Why Do We Do This?
Hmm, let's see...while people are starving in Africa (and elsewhere), our top hip-hop celebrities are putting thousands of dollars worth of gold and diamonds into their mouths, all celebrities are buying expensive clothing, cars, houses, and even wine on their nights out on the town! Why? Why does our society put so much worth into what people in the entertainment business are WEARING or EATING, or how they exercise, or what they say, or who they're dating?? Why does anyone care?
Why make millions/billions of dollars and spend it all on material things when there are people in this world that don't have anything but the clothes on their backs and they fall asleep at night without a roof over their head, without food in their stomach? Why buy or build million dollar homes? Do people really need that much extravagance in their lives? Maybe they do it because they can. But past the point where they are living comfortably, why go any further? What is it about humans that makes us want to horde so much money?
You'll probably die with millions/billions of unspent dollars, sure, pass it down in the family so that your family will be rich for generations to come. But I believe the most noble thing a person could do is to keep enough money to have a good life, and to give the rest back to the world. Whoever has the most "toys" or money when they die DOES NOT WIN. You don't get to have the toys or the money AFTER you die, so what's the point?? People should stop being so selfish!
http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/12530891/

0 Comments:
Post a Comment
<< Home